2014 Book Roundup

2014 Book Roundup

Well, 2014 has come and gone, and I can already tell that 2015 is going to be an even better year. I can just feel it. 🙂

During the holidays, I’m sad to admit that my blogging got away from me. But I’m back, and I would like to take a post to look at what I read in 2014. I surpassed my goal of 35 books (thanks to my inclusion of audiobooks) and read a total of 36 books. But what would I like to change about my reading habits this coming year? First, let’s look at what I read in 2014.

1. Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell****
2. Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn****
3. Go Ask Alice by Beatrice Sparks***
4. This Side of Paradise by F. Scott Fitzgerald**
5. Both Sides of Time by Caroline B. Cooney*
6. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell****
7. Serena by Ron Rash****
8. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott*****
9. The Walking Dead: Book One by Robert Kirkman****
10. Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut**
11. Summer Sisters by Judy Blume***
12. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green*****
13. One for the Money by Janet Evonovich****
14. Eleven Kinds of Loneliness by Richard Yates****
15. Looking for Alaska by John Green***
16. The Maze Runner by James Dashner**
17. I Don’t Know What You Know Me From: Confessions of a Co-Star by Judy Greer***
18. Crazy Rich Asians by Kevin Kwan****
19. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini****
20. Under the Dome by Stephen King****
21. Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed****
22. Flowers in the Attic by V.C. Andrews****
23. Landline by Rainbow Rowell****
24. The Marriage Plot by Jeffrey Eugenides (Read my review here.)*****
25. 1Q84 by Haruki Murakami (Read my review here.)*
26. French Lessons by Ellen Sussman***
27. Ship of Theseus by Doug Dorst****
28. Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan****
29. Moloka’i by Alan Brennert (Read my review here.)****
30. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams***
31. This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper****
32. 1984 by George Orwell****
33. 11/22/63 by Stephen King****
34. Lost in Shangri-la: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II by Mitchell Zuckhoff***
35. The Lost Duke of Wyndham by Julia Quinn***
36. The Leftovers by Tom Perrotta**

My Favorite Books: Little Women; The Fault In Our Stars; The Marriage Plot

My Least-Favorite Books: Both Sides of Time; 1Q84

Audiobooks: Under the Dome; 1Q84; French Lessons; Dad is Fat; The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy; 11/22/63; The Leftovers

Book Club Books: Serena; Breakfast of Champions; Eleven Kinds of Loneliness; Crazy Rich Asians; The Marriage Plot; This Is Where I Leave You; Lost in Shangri-la: A True Story of Survival, Adventure, and the Most Incredible Rescue Mission of World War II

Classics: This Side of Paradise; Little Women; Breakfast of Champions; 1984

I’m pretty pleased with my list and believe it to be fairly well-rounded. I tackled four classics and read a variety of genres, from contemporary and memoirs to non-fiction and short stories. Being a part of a book club definitely helped me get to books I otherwise wouldn’t have picked up. Next year I think I’d like to read even more classics…let’s say six…and a couple more pieces of non-fiction.

Are you happy with your 2014 reading list? What’s on your 2015 must-read list? Happy reading!

6 Comments

Filed under Books

6 responses to “2014 Book Roundup

  1. You eat books for breakfast. This is an insane list! I’m shooting for 12. One a month. That was my goal last year, and I failed. Try, try again!

    • Finding time to read can be challenging. I do so much of it over lunch break, and when I really get into a book I spend a lot of time with it at home. And the audiobooks are great for me considering my 30-minute commute to and from work. 🙂 As long as you’re reading and enjoying it, it doesn’t matter how many books you get through!

  2. lulusrantsandreads

    I think I read close to thirty this past year…you have a lot of books that I want to read or have read! What did you think of This is Where I Leave You? Also, was Wild any good?

    Hope your new year is going well! 🙂

    -S.

    • “This Is Where I Leave You” was one of my book club choices and I really enjoyed it. I purposefully avoided the trailer for the new movie that came out just so that I could cast the characters in my head first, and I was very surprised with some of Hollywood’s choices. The book is very heavy in dialogue and drama, and entertaining as well as moving. I also really enjoyed “Wild,” especially in comparison to “Eat, Pray, Love.” Memoirs are usually hard for me to enjoy because most of them feel so self-involved (as is the nature of a memoir) but I really bought into Cheryl’s journey and found myself wanting to go hiking after I finished the book.

      Happy new year to you as well!

  3. Great list and good luck for next year!

    I’ve grown to really love audiobooks, and how they up my reading numbers. I’ve even found that some books are better in audio–I feel this way especially about memoirs when they are read by the authors or books that have a lot of non-English words in them. I read the Orphan Master’s Son (which is about North Korea) awhile back and I felt like hearing the correct pronunciation of the names and places added to the reading experience.

Leave a Reply

