My Style: So Long Summer

Well, it’s been more than two years since I last wrote a blog post for Simply Gina. I don’t have much of an excuse other than I got busy and just wasn’t feeling inspired. But lately—and I don’t know if it’s the onset of my favorite season or something else—I’ve really missed keeping up with this site. So I’m back in the game. I don’t want to say I’m back permanently, then fall off the face of the earth, but I’m back for the time being. With that being said, let’s get into the thick of things: style!

So Long Summer 3

I went full hills-are-alive-with-the-sound-of-music with this look. I paired a floral dress I scored for $10 from Maurices with a crochet-knit vest my mother gave me in one of her frantic downsizing crazes. Accessorized with a braided belt and a leather cross-over purse I found at my favorite local secondhand store, this outfit is my final nod to summer. So long delicate floral prints. So long baby blue nail polish. So long open-toed sandals. So long.

Also, for what it’s worth, if you wake up and find yourself not having a good hair day, a great way to remedy that is with this simple Heidi braid. (Click here for a simple tutorial.) I often get coworkers complimenting my hair, as if I spent hours on it. But the truth is it takes minutes and is a great way to manage unruly tresses. (And you’ll feel like singing while walking down the hall.)

So Long Summer 2

So Long Summer 1

Dress: Maurices; Belt: Target; Crochet Vest: gifted; Shoes: too old to remember, seriously; Purse: Vintage Coach

2 Comments

Filed under Fashion

2 responses to “My Style: So Long Summer

  1. Your hair is always so cute! I look forward to being able to do milkmaid braids again…so easy, so effortless. Goodbye, summer!

Leave a Reply

