My Summer Checklist, 2012

{At the Kanrocksas concert in 2011 with Ashley.}

Happy summer! This past Memorial Day weekend was a wonderful respite. It consisted of golf, barbeques, summer brews, the pool, mai tais and sunburns. (That last part was actually not so wonderful. Ouch!)

Now that summer has officially started, I’ve decided to make a summer checklist. Nothing too hardcore, just a couple of fun activities and accomplishments I would like to enjoy this year. Here it is:

1. Burn a mixed cd with songs that remind me of this summer.
2. Find the perfect tropical maxi dress to wear in Hawaii this July.
3. Go to an outdoor concert. (Buzz Beach Ball, here I come!)
4. Concoct a signature summer drink. (I’m thinking about something with cilantro, sparkling water and rum.)
5. Host a barbeque with all my friends.
6. Finish a DIY project (any DIY project!) from my Pinterest board Makeable.
7. Visit a local winery with the hubbie.
8. Ride my bike along a trail and/or around the KU campus.
9. Have a picnic.
10. Watch a summer blockbuster in theaters. There are so many to choose from, including The Avengers, Snow White & The Huntsman, and The Dark Knight Returns.

What’s on your summer checklist? Anything fun and fabulous you want to do this year? Leave me a comment and let me know!

7 Comments

Filed under Entertainment, Local

7 responses to “My Summer Checklist, 2012

  1. I like this idea! I might have to do something similar for myself. Where are you going in Hawaii again? I went in 2010…it was fabulous and I didn’t want to come home.

  2. mom

    Mine is getting my new cd copy of Adelle 🙂
    Moma

  3. @exlibrisheather I’m going the first weekend of July, which is perfect timing for the hubbie and I–it’s right after our three-year wedding anniversary and it’s during his birthday and the Fourth of July. (I can only imagine that fireworks will look gorgeous in Hawaii.) Where in Hawaii did you go? Any activity or places to visit recommendations?

    @mom Hahaha. I have both CDs ready to give to you the next time we see each other. ❤

    • We went to Oahu and Maui. Oahu was great for the history, the touristy stuff (we went to a pineapple plantation!), and of course shopping. Maui was supppppperr relaxed. We did mostly beachy stuff there, although the “road to Hana” drive was an awesome day trip! I hope you guys have a great time!

  4. Love all these to-do’s for the summer! Especially #2 and #6!

    I’ve nominated you for the One Lovely Blog and Very Inspiring Blog Awards! Check it out here: http://thethreadaffect.com/2012/06/09/nomination-love/

  5. @thethreadaffect Thank you so much! I can’t wait to see my guest post on your lovely blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

