What I’m Reading: March to April, 2012

Well, I didn’t do so well with my reading list this month. It may have had to do with the fact that we had an extra issue to ship to the printer at work this past month, and re-reading the same article over and over again, only to come home and read more just didn’t appeal to me. (Whereas watching episodes of Grey’s Anatomy and New Girl did.) So here’s what I was able to accomplish in March and April: a romance, a repeat read, a tale of magic and intrigue, and a light chick lit. Maybe you’ll find something that appeals to you below. Enjoy!

Romancing Mr. Bridgerton. This is the highly anticipated fourth installment of Julia Quinn’s Bridgerton series. It features Penelope Featherington and Colin Bridgerton, two characters from books previous who stole every scene they were in together. We all knew that they would eventually fall in love, and it was really fun to see how they found their happily ever after. Plus, (SPOILER!) this book finally reveals the identity of Lady Whistledown! The only bummer is that Whistledown’s gossip column also makes its final appearance in the book. This witty rag served as a Greek chorus to the series, setting this romance series apart from the rest. It will be interesting to read the remaining novels without Whistledown’s society observations bookmarking the start of each chapter. 4 STARS

The Hunger Games. There’s really not much to say about this book. You either know what it is about or you don’t. And if you don’t, you’ve either been living under a rock or purposefully ignoring it because it didn’t sound interesting to you. This is my second time reading The Hunger Games—the first, which kept me mesmerized the entire time, was back in 2010. I decided to reread this book in anticipation of the movie (so that I could tear the movie apart in comparison to the book the way that super nerds do. Super nerds unite!). There was no change in my star rating from the first time I read it. It still kept me entranced. I was even able to pay attention to details that went unnoticed before, now knowing what would happen at the turn of the next page. 5 STARS

The Night Circus. Debut author Erin Morgenstern really wanted this book to be something special. You can tell that she means to capture forbidden love, black magic and childhood dreams brought to life. But there was something missing: a captivating story. The plot is thinly veiled: two young magicians in training are raised to compete in a battle set in a night circus. However, the “battle” comprises of the magicians creating beauty within a string of black and white tents with their special skills. And when the two young magicians fall in love they must choose between love and this boring “battle.” All the elements were there, but without a captivating story (and characters, I might add) the reader (at least this reader) is left searching. Sure, this book is filled with a lot of beautiful prose and descriptions of worlds that only Morgenstern could have dreamed up, but what is a beautiful world without an interesting story (and character) to enjoy it with? 2 1/2 STARS

Good in Bed. As a light piece of chick lit, this book hit a lot of hot button issues. Namely, weight. Cannie’s ex-b0yfriend has taken a job as a columnist for a woman’s magazine (think Cosmopolitan) and writes an article titled “Loving a Larger Woman.” Yes. Cannie is a plus-sized woman. And this book is about her journey to self-confidence after being completely embarassed by her ex-boyfriends’ published writings. She withstands a lot of pitfalls along the way, but ultimately finds happiness. However, the thing that bothered me the most about this book was the main character. Cannie is supposed to be this strong, independent woman. And I know this because we are constantly told that she is. However, all Cannie ever seemed to do was bitch and whine about her looks and past mistakes. After awhile, it really started to get on my nerves. She had moments of clarity, but they were overshadowed by her more periodic moments of self-doubt. If only the woman we were told Cannie was, was actually the woman Cannie was. 3 1/2 STARS

What are you currently reading? What should I read next? Leave me a comment and let me know!

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “What I’m Reading: March to April, 2012

  1. I have had a copy of ‘The Night Circus’ stashed away for a while but I haven’t started reading it yet. I have heard a lot of negative comments about it which is disappointing as it sounded really interesting from the blurb.

  2. I’ve read mixed reviews on The Night Circus, but I do still want to read it. I know how it is though to anticipate reading a book, only to have it disappoint you. Also, thanks for reviewing Good in Bed. I’ve seen that book in the stores, but never bothered to pick it up to find out what it was about!

  3. The Night Circus blurb made the novel seem like this epic, action-packed battle between two fierce competitors. But it wasn’t, and I was thoroughly disappointed. However, I still think that you should read it for yourselves. You might enjoy the flowing prose and beautifully detailed world that Morgenstern creates. I just wasn’t as much of a fan as I thought I would be. My expectations were too high. But maybe with your expectations lowered, you’ll both enjoy it more than me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

