Cute Cupcakes: Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

The girls and I had a fun time baking last weekend. We caught up on each other’s lives, watched our favorite Sex and the City episodes, munched on red pepper hummus (Yum!) and baked these delicious Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcakes, courtesy Doughmesstic. Whoever said it was bad having too many cooks in the kitchen clearly didn’t bake cupcakes with three of their best friends.

The cake is a vanilla bean cake, which forced the girls and I to learn what it means to scrape a vanilla bean. (Basically, you take a vanilla bean, slice it lengthwise down the middle, flatten it out, scrape the insides out of it with a paring knife and set it aside.) The scraped vanilla eventually gets added to the batter along with 2 teaspoons vanilla and 2 teaspoons bourbon to give the cake a little extra flavor. The result is a moist and tasty vanilla cake.

I really enjoyed these cupcakes, but I wish more prominent strawberry and cheesecake flavors were present. The next time I find myself following this recipe, I think I may look into improving upon the cake batter a little bit. The strawberry flavors only come from the jam filling and the strawberry garnish; the cheesecake flavors only come from the cheesecake frosting and the graham cracker crust topping. Although I thoroughly enjoyed the cupcake, I don’t think it’s 100 percent fair to call it a Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcake.

But please note, it’s a delicious cupcake. I’m just whining because I have a blog … and I can. 🙂

{Aren’t my girlfriends and I just the best food stylists? All four of us had our cameras out trying to capture this delicious treat, as we kept coming up with different ways to style our cupcake properly. The end result? Stacked plates, Laura’s centerpiece and Laura’s beautiful scarf that I snagged from her closet. There are no amateurs among us!}

Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

Visit Doughmesstic to get the full list of ingredients as well as detailed instructions.

To assemble these cupcakes, add a bit of strawberry jam to the inside of a cooled cupcake with a piping tip designed for filing. Top with a healthy amount of the cream cheese frosting. Melt a tablespoon of butter in a small bowl in the microwave.  Add 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and 1/4 cup of graham cracker crumbs and stir well,  Sprinkle the mixture on the frosting. Halve some fresh strawberries and add one half to each cupcake. Serve and enjoy!

So what do you think, dear readers? Do you think that you’ll soon find yourself in the kitchen trying to recreate these delicious cupcakes? If not, what baking projects do you have planned? I just recently learned how to make a Dutch Baby. Stay tuned for the exciting cast iron skillet details.

3 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

3 responses to “Cute Cupcakes: Strawberry Cheesecake Cupcakes

  1. loved these cupcakes, but agree, cream cheese frosting and strawberry jam/fresh strawberries do not instantly make “strawberry cheesecake.” however, i can’t complain because i’m pretty sure i ate like 3 of them 😉

  2. Ashley McDonald

    I am not much of a cake person (please take a moment to loudly gasp and cover your hand over your mouth in appall) however do intend on recreating Jello Shot Cupcakes (http://iheartcuppycakes.com/2009/03/11/jello-shot-cupcakes/) for a certain 21st birthday. Wish me luck…and enthusiasm.

  3. @kimberlyloc LOL. You may not have noticed but I, too, indulged in more than one cupcake. Oopsies …

    @Ashley *gasps loudly, covering hand over mouth in appall
    Those Jello Shot Cupcakes do look like fun to make. Make sure to save me one. 😉 And good luck!!!

Leave a Reply

