Goodbye 2011; Hello 2012

Goodbye 2011. Hello 2012. It’s the end of another year—a great year, in fact.

In 2011 I got the chance to travel around the states. I journeyed to Southern California for work and for pleasure; I vacayed in Minnesota with a great group of friends; I went on a road trip to St. Louis with two of my closest girlfriends; I gave presentations on making apothecary basics in Pennsylvania and Washington; and I discovered the great city of Portland, Oregon with my sister-in-law.

2011 also marked the first year of simply gina. I’ve enjoyed sharing my favorite local restaurants, recipes, styles, products, books, DIY projects and more with all of you. I hope to increase my blogging efforts in 2012. In fact, I hope to improve the quality of my blog posts—it’s one of my new year’s resolutions. I want to be more personal with all of you. Working at a magazine I realize that a lot of my writing tends to sound like it came from the pages of a consumer publication. And really, this is one of the reasons why I started a blog—to find my own voice and embrace it. So here’s to writing with personality!

My other new year’s resolution you ask? It may be cliché, but it’s to get into shape. I don’t necessarily want to lose weight, although that would be a welcome bonus, but I want to get fit and not run out of breath after just one lap around my neighborhood. In 2012 I would like to run a 5K (that would be a big deal for me!) and participate in the Kansas City Warrior Dash, an event I’ve already signed up for. Yikes! (My biggest Warrior Dash fear? It’s not the jumping over fire that terrifies me, but the diving into a mud pit. I really don’t like getting muddy.)

{I kid of course. *wink*}

So thanks to everyone who reads my blog. Hugs all around and here’s to another great year! I’ll leave you with my top ten posts of 2011. Did you have a personal favorite? Would you like me to write about something specific? Leave me a comment and let me know! Hearing from my readers truly makes my day.

10. What I’m Craving: 25th Birthday Wishes

9. What I’m Craving: Apothecary Jars

8. My Style: Final Friday Frills

7. What I’m Inspired By: Pinterest

6. Three Days of Valentine’s Day Fun

5. DIY: Construct a Frame Collage for an Infusion of Color

4. DIY: Revamp Your Bookshelves

3. Once in a Sunday Brunch: 715 Restaurant | Lawrence, KS

2. Fondue Fridays: Coq Au Vin and Gorgonzola Port Sauce

1. Daydreaming of Back-to-School Supplies

3 Comments

Filed under Holidays

3 responses to “Goodbye 2011; Hello 2012

  1. Peyton

    Mark and I are thinking about doing the Warrior Dash as well! We haven’t officially signed up yet. What wave did you sign up for?

  2. @Peyton That’s so exciting! You should do it. 🙂 I think we signed up for the 10:30 slot, although I’m not positive. It might have been the 11:30 slot. But I’m leaning toward 10:30 being the right answer. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Snapshots from the 2012 Warrior Dash | Kansas City, Missouri |

Leave a Reply

