My Style: Emerald and Ruby Hues

I hope everyone had a happy holiday! Mine was fantastic. On Christmas Eve the husband and I enjoyed spending time with all of our loved ones: we had lunch with his side of the family and dinner with my side of the family. On Christmas Day we hung out, just the two of us. We woke up early to open each other’s Christmas gifts (I got a brand new laptop and a Chi!) then had a Christmas movie marathon (click here to see some of my favorite Christmas movies) accompanied by Christmas-themed cocktails. (Stay tuned this week for a delicious Candy Cane Cocktail recipe!) Later that evening my mom and her boyfriend stopped by for dinner and drinks. It was a great weekend.

Now, unfortunately, it’s time to leave the land of Christmas cookie baking and afternoon cocktails and get back to the real world. But I’m taking some Christmas style with me. Although Christmas is officially over, I’m still in love with the seasonal hues emerald and ruby, so I incorporated them into this outfit. I’ve worn this ensemble during day errands and even out to dinner and drinks with friends. To keep my emerald and ruby look from being to Christmas-y, I topped off my outfit with a casual hat and Oxford flats.

I love wearing hats. In fact, I wish more people would do it. They’re so much fun to wear, they always attract compliments and they can add tons of personality to any simple blouse and jean pairing. This particular hat is from the very affordable and super stylish Albertus Swanepoel collection for Target.

Blouse: Forever 21
Shell: Old Navy
Jeans: Gap
Shoes: Arizona Jean Company
Bracelets: H&M and Premier Designs
Earrings: Premier Designs
Necklace: Forever 21
Hat: Albertus Swanepoel for Target
Purse: Plato’s Closet find
Sunglasses: Target

What about you? How was your holiday? What are your seasonal inspirations? Leave me a comment to let me know! I love hearing from my readers.

6 Comments

Filed under Fashion

6 responses to “My Style: Emerald and Ruby Hues

  1. Cute outfit… I especially love the green top… I’m a sucker for that shade of green at the moment!

  2. love that emerald green, g. and you alway rock those hats like whoa. i need to try hats more. glad you had a great christmas, and can’t wait to see you and the ladies for our baking day next month! xoxo

  3. Hey lady! Happy holidays 😉
    I’m a huge fan of jewel tones, so I am digging your top right now.
    I too am being forced, unwillingly, out of my holiday haze. I really do enjoy any reason to do nothing but watch episode after episode of hulu shows. Oh well. There’s still New Years.

    Pssssst. Hats are cool, don’t listen to people who say otherwise.

  4. Pingback: Cute Cocktail: Candy Cane Cocktail |

  5. Thanks everyone!

    @Tara Thanks for stopping by! I, too, am in love with this shade of green. I just bought a sweater on sale from The Limited in the same hue.

    @kimberlyloc Can’t wait to see you, too! Baking here we come!

    @candidsmiles Happy holidays to you too! Speaking of Hulu shows, you need to lend me True Blood (if you have it, of course. :)).

  6. Pingback: My Style: The Mighty Python | Simply Gina - Fashion, Food, Books

Leave a Reply

