Dressing up for Halloween is More than Half the Fun

My absolute favorite thing about fall, other than the noise fallen leaves make when you step on them, pumpkin desserts, chai and stylish boots, is dressing up for Halloween. Sure there’s candy and copious parties, but for me dressing up is the highlight of the season!

With Halloween right around the corner, I’ve been spending most of my free time getting me and the husband’s costumes ready. In fact, my home has turned into Costume Central.

AJ and I love dressing up. It’s become a tradition ever since our first Halloween together when we dressed up as pirates. Since then I feel as if we’ve gotten more creative with each passing year, although I still have a soft spot for Doug Funni and Patti Mayonnaise. (It’s about time those crazy kids got together!)

{2005: I cut up a wench dress from Target and hemmed it so that it looked like a pirate shirt and paired it with a medallion necklace, capri pants and a hand-drawn “tattoo.” AJ used his recently broken hand as a convenient place for a hook.}

Most of all, I love creating our costumes from scratch. As convenient as store-bought costumes are, I’d rather have the memory of crafting a one-of-a-kind creation. And this year is no different. Check out glimpses from my past Halloweens and get a sneak peek at this year’s costume. Can you guess what the husband and I are going to be?

{2007: Patti Mayonnaise and Quailman; 2008: Princess and Leia and Jabba the Hutt.}

{2009: Mrs. Pac-man and Inky, the blue ghost; 2010: Miss Piggy and Gonzo}

{Here’s a sneak peek of our 2011 costumes. What do you think we’re going to be?}

Tell me about your favorite Halloween costumes. What are you going to be this year?

8 Comments

Filed under Holidays

8 responses to “Dressing up for Halloween is More than Half the Fun

  1. are you going to be one of the mario turtles? or princess peach? 🙂

  2. I’m am totally jealous of creative costume creators like you every Halloween. I love EVERY costume!

  3. I adore this post so much, Gina! You guys have quite the hall of fame of costumes, all so clever and well executed. My favorite of the bunch is — just by a little bit — Jabba and Princess Leia. The combo of the being chained to each other concept and the huge, hilarious head A.J. wore — brilliant! Judging by the little sneak peek of this year’s costumes, you guys will be further adding to your legacy of Halloween awesomeness!

  4. Susan

    I want to say Bowser and Mario, but does that mean you’re going as enemies?

    Nick and I usually dress up together, and we’ve had some good costumes over the years: Indiana Jones and Marion Ravenwood (from the first Indiana Jones movie), big game hunter and leopard, zombie and zombie-apocalypse survivor. Our best costume was the year we went as Juno and Paulie Bleaker! Dressing up for Halloween is so much more fun if you have a partner!

  5. Awesome costumes! Love them!

  6. Peyton

    I can’t wait to see pictures of you two! Have a Happy Halloween!

  7. Thanks everyone! We love Halloween. It’s always fun to get creative and think outside the box. We were in fact Mario and Bowser. 🙂 Hope everyone had a Happy Halloween!

Leave a Reply

