Cute Cupcakes: Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

I’ve been getting excited for the fall season, but I never felt like I said a proper goodbye to summer. These cupcakes were my final farewell to the season.

I saw a similar Pink Lemonade Cupcakes on Pinterest and just had to recreate them. Using a neighborhood Labor Day block party as an excuse, I bought some pink lemonade concentrate and whipped up a batch of these adorable summer libation lookalikes.


It took me awhile to find a recipe that didn’t use white cake mix, (I was being stubborn and insisted on making them entirely from scratch.) but eventually I found this recipe here from the blogger Cast Sugar.

I love how I made the cupcakes look like little beverages. Too bad they’re not drinkable. But they are delicious and very easy to make (for a from-scratch recipe). They taste a little sour and tart, yet also very sweet. I’d love to try making these again but replacing the pink lemonade concentrate with limeade, passion fruit or raspberry lemonade concentrate.

Pink Lemonade Cupcakes
Use the leftover lemonade concentrate to make drinks served with the cupcakes, or save them for a future cocktail.

• 1 cup all-purpose flour
• 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
• 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
• Salt
• 1/2 cup granulated sugar
• 1/4 cup vegetable oil
• 2 egg whites
• 1/3 cup thawed frozen Pink Lemonade Concentrate
• 1/4 cup buttermilk
• Red food coloring

Pink Lemonade Frosting
• 3 cups and 3 tablespoons confectioner’s sugar
• 1 stick unsalted butter at room temperature
• 1/8 teaspoon salt
• 2 tablespoons Pink Lemonade Concentrate
• Red food coloring

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line muffin pan with liners.

2. In a small bowl, combine flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

3. In a large bowl, whisk together sugar, oil, egg whites and lemonade concentrate. Alternately whisk in flour mixture and buttermilk, making three additions of flour mixture and two of buttermilk, beating until just smooth. Add just enough food coloring to turn the batter a light shade of pink.

4. Scoop batter into liners (fill about 3/4 full). Bake in preheated oven for 20 to 25 minutes or until tops of cupcakes spring back when lightly touched. Let cool in pan on rack for 10 minutes. Remove from pan and let cool completely on rack.

5. To make the frosting, mix butter, confectioner’s sugar, salt, lemon juice and a few drops of food coloring with an electric mixer on low until combined. Turn the speed to medium-high until the buttercream frosting is fluffy and uniformly pink.

6. Pipe or spread onto cooled cupcakes. Garnish with pink crystallized sprinkles, decorative straws and lemon-flavored (and shaped) gummies.

How did you bid your final farewell to summer?

8 Comments

Filed under Food, Recipes

8 responses to “Cute Cupcakes: Pink Lemonade Cupcakes

  1. Oh my yumness. I must make these. Love the straws!

  2. Oh wow! These look soooooo cute. What a perfect send off to summer too! I want them please!

  3. Thanks everyone! They were so delicious. 🙂

  4. Um, I didn’t comment earlier but have you in my Reader (local bloggers unite!), and wanted to thank you for using the recipe from my food blog! 🙂

  5. @Nemmie Local bloggers unite indeed! Your recipe was perfect. Everyone that tried one of my cupcakes loved how they turned out. What a great idea!

  6. Pingback: Baking |

  7. Pingback: What I’m Inspired By: Baking Party Inspiration |

Leave a Reply

