My Style: Coral Dreams of Cool Summer Days


Unless you’ve been living under an air-conditioned rock, you may know that it is “hot in Topeka.” Today it was 98 degrees, and that was a cool day! It’s been very hard keeping cool while staying fashionable. I’ve basically been living in sundresses all summer long, and this is my most recent purchase. In fact, it is quickly becoming one of my favorites. I adore the intricate cut-outs around the neckline.

I wore it out to Genovese, an Italian restaurant on Massachusetts street, with the husband. (Watch out for a simply gina post about Genovese in the near future.) I tried to jazz it up with a braided belt and my favorite gold jewelry I purchased at a jewelry party years ago. This is the end result.


Dress: Target
Shoes: Target
Jewelry: Premier Designs
Sunglasses: Target
Belt: Target
Purse: Steve Madden

I just realized that my entire outfit, minus my jewelry and purse, is from Target. I swear I shop at other places; I just really love trends on a dime.

How have you been staying cool this summer? I’d love it if you would share your secrets with me.

4 Comments

Filed under Fashion

4 responses to “My Style: Coral Dreams of Cool Summer Days

  1. Susan

    Very cute! I bought a dress very similar to that at the Gap earlier this summer, but turns out I can’t pull off the belted look so I returned it. In the words of Ted Mosby, however, I’d say you’re “pulling it off.” 🙂 as for staying cool, I don’t alter my wardrobe much. I have thick German-esque calves, so I wear long pants all the time…

  2. Love, love the coral color! And the belt. Thanks for linking to my blog. 🙂

  3. You are a walking Target ad! So cute. Love that dress. I almost got it in purple. I have been rockin’ a lot of Target these days, too — great stuff at great prices!

    http://www.kimberlyloc.com/

  4. Susan, you’re silly. I bet you could totally rock the belted look. In fact, I’d say you would pull it off, red-boot style. 🙂
    Kirsten, thanks! I also really love the color of this dress. You need to update Everyday Threads soon. Stop writing about organic trends and focus on what REALLY matters–clothes. 🙂
    Kim, I really am, aren’t I? Oops. 🙂

Leave a Reply

