DIY: Construct a Frame Collage for an Infusion of Color

Since I moved into my house I’ve been preoccupied with renovation, which means I haven’t had much time to think about decorating. But now that our master bathroom and bedroom renovations are finally finished (we pulled off hideous paneled walls and peeled off ugly shag carpet; we installed new flooring, backsplash tiles and a gorgeous vanity; we had a new shower professionally installed; and we rebuilt our closets, among other things) I can start focusing on the details.

The biggest detail I am determined to tackle is color. Overall, our home needs a color upgrade, and the bedroom is my first mission to tackle. Although our walls are a beautiful mocha and our bed frame is a deep espresso, there isn’t much more in terms of vibrancy. So when I walked through the clearance section of Urban Outfitters and found a box of different-sized frames for only $20, I saw a budget-friendly opportunity.

Inspired by one of my favorite blogs, Young House Love, I decided to use these frames to create a wall collage. I visited Michaels and bought cardstock pages that featured intricate green, yellow, purple and blue Moroccan stencils. Then I went home and framed them.


The process is simple, although a little time consuming. To do this project yourself, find cardstock pages that you adore. If you can’t find any, don’t feel tied down to cardstock. You can frame pictures, fabric, wallpaper and more. Whatever you can think of! Frame your paper and arrange the frames however you desire. I scattered mine so that they would lay predominantly horizontal.


Next, tape together pages of paper (I used my husband’s graph paper that he has leftover from his college days.) or find a very large sheet of paper and place under your frame arrangement. Trace your frames, mark where your nail will rest and identify which frame is which. To mark the nail placement, I guess-timated. However, I ran into a little trouble when it came time to hang the frames. To avoid the trouble I got into, grab a ruler and measure. It’s tedious, but it will be worth it in the end.


Tape your sketch where you would like to hang your frames from. Avoid harsh tape that can ruin your walls.


You’re almost done! Grab nails and a hammer and start hanging your frames. All you have to do is hammer the nail in where you already designated they need to go. Correct any errors as you go along. (I had to nudge a couple of my frames to the sides so that they wouldn’t be off balance. This caused my arrangement not to have the same amount of space in between them. But I’m embracing this mistake as “abstract.”)


To finish, carefully pull your paper out from underneath your frames. (Or, if you’re like me and worried that this will cause your frames to fall, crash and break, take off all your frames, pull the paper off the wall, and re-hang everything.)

Have you crafted your own frame collage? What did you frame and where did you display your collage? How have you incorporated color into your home? I am now on the lookout for a new comforter and new curtains that match these frames and our area rug. (It’s the one thing in the room that isn’t a shade of brown!) I’m also going to invest in some floating shelves for the opposite wall.

4 Comments

Filed under Decor, DIY

4 responses to “DIY: Construct a Frame Collage for an Infusion of Color

  1. Your frame collage looks great! I really need to do something like this for my bare, white walls! Overstock.com always has a huge collection of duvet covers. I can’t wait to hang with you in Minn. In a couple of weeks!

  2. Thanks Rachel! Minnesota is going to be so much fun! Can’t wait to see you again. πŸ™‚

  3. I love that you have this on here! I’ve been collecting black frames for a while to do something very similar in my bedroom. :]

  4. Pingback: Goodbye 2011; Hello 2012 |

Leave a Reply

