A Healthy Snack: Sweet Potato Fries


I have an obsession with sweet potato fries. This comfort food is the perfect combination of sweet and salty. After scavenging Lawrence for the best fry—my favorites so far residing in The Burger Stand, Smashburger and the Yacht Club—I decided to save money and stay health conscious by making my own.

I kept my recipe very simple: a dab of olive oil and a pinch of salt per handful of cut sweet potatoes. However, you can doll up your batch with a variety of spices. My aunt recently emailed me a recipe that calls for brown sugar. I’ve also seen recipes that list cinnamon, paprika, cumin, curry, turmeric powder or even red pepper flakes as a preferred seasoning. Add whatever you like.

And the best thing about my version? They’re baked! So avoid deep-fried treats by trying my recipe below.

Baked Sweet Potato Fries

• 3 sweet potatoes, peeled or unpeeled depending on your preference
• 3 tablespoons olive oil
• A pinch of kosher salt per handful of wedges

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

2. Cut your potatoes into 1/2- to 1-inch thick wedges. Slice off any points to avoid burnt bits.

3. Toss your wedges with olive oil and salt.

4. Spread your wedges on an aluminum foil-covered baking sheet so that they’re not touching. (If you pile them directly on top of each other they won’t be very crispy.)

5. Bake for 20 minutes, turning them over halfway through.

6. Enjoy!

Where do you get your sweet potato fry fix? Have you made sweet potato fries? How did you make yours?

{No, I don’t have man hands. My hubbie is chopping so I can take pictures.}

{Try to keep your wedges from touching so as to produce a crispier fry.}

1 Comment

Filed under Food, Recipes

One response to “A Healthy Snack: Sweet Potato Fries

  1. Lindsey

    You’re so cool, Gina 🙂 i love you.

Leave a Reply

