Rock the Casbah: The Burger Stand | Lawrence, Kansas

{Visit The Casbah for a cold beer with burger and fries on the side.}

Looking for a casual spot to grab a burger and a couple of drinks with friends? Then take a stroll down Massachusetts street and enter The Burger Stand at the Casbah.

Since moving from the Irish eatery Dempsey’s Pub, The Burger Stand has expanded its menu to include vegetarian options and a selection of top shelf “hawt dogz.” But its standout items are still its gourmet selection of burgers and fries. I recently went there with my good friend Ashley to catch up and enjoy some down-to-earth food.

I love the atmosphere. When you walk in, you’re greeted by a rustic meets urban design that instantly makes you feel like you belong. Just walk up to the bar and make your selection from the hand scripted chalkboard menu. When the food is readyβ€”after an impatient wait, I’m sureβ€”they’ll call your name for you to come and grab your food and drinks at the pick-up window near the back.

Because I had not been there before I chose their classic burger, made with Vermont cheddar and locally sourced micro-greens, and their sweet potato fries. I have to say that although the burger was delicious (much better than any Applebees or Spangles concoction I’ve had) their sweet potato fries were amazing. They were perfectly seasoned and fried to perfection. Ashley wanted to try something a little bit different so she went with the Samurai, a burger served with shiitake mushrooms and wasabi goat cheese cream, and the truffle fries. She enjoyed the burger but also raved about the fries.

Try one of their other burgers, kobe, black & blue, fire, or smoke. Other fry varieties include regular, duck fat, poutine and smoked tofu. Dip them in one of their homemade sauces: cherry-pepper ketchup, guajillo-chili dip and parmesan-roasted garlic aioli.

I must say that I am in love. This restaurant exudes the very feel that downtown Lawrence is all about. And although I would rather have someone take my order and bring me my food, some might argue that The Burger Stand’s self-service only adds to that desired casual vibe.

Have you been to The Burger Stand? What did you think about it? I think I read somewhere that they have karaoke on Wednesdays. Who’s coming with me?!

{Order from their selection of top quality burgers, fries and hot dogs.}

{I recommend the classic burger with sweet potato fries; then watch out for my homemade sweet potato fries in an upcoming blog post.}

4 Comments

Filed under Drinks, Food, Local, Restaurant

4 responses to “Rock the Casbah: The Burger Stand | Lawrence, Kansas

  1. I have yet to visit the Burger Stand at the Casbah β€” lunch date soon? I have had the Black and Blue burger and Falafel burger before … want to get through the whole list! Not sure about those “hawt dogz” though πŸ™‚

    xx

  2. Pingback: A Healthy Snack: Sweet Potato Fries |

  3. Pingback: Just Around the Corner: Esquina | Lawrence, KS |

  4. Pingback: My Style: Green With Envy |

Leave a Reply

