My Travels: Fun Things To Do In Southern California


I just returned from a week-long respite in California. I worked at the Natural Products Expo West for the first three days, then spent the remainder of my time hanging out with my cousins in San Diego. I thought I would share a couple of my favorite activities while out west.


I donned one of my many spring dresses, a gray cardigan and my Panama hat, and hit the beach. The Del Mar beach to be exact. My cousin Doug and I didn’t do much but get our feet wet tip toeing along the shore and watch the waves come in, but it was picture perfect. The beach is the best place to people watch. I enjoyed watching a group of frat boys energetically build a sand castle and a middle-aged man sit down and silently conduct music.


The next day we returned to Del Mar, kites in hand. It was great running alongside the tide, watching our $4 kites fly high.


On our second day at the beach we also toted along our book Outlander and read it while the sun went down.


The next day, Doug took me to the Spectrum in Irvine, CA, an adorable outdoor shopping center. While I was there I bought a couple of tops and a skirt from H&M and Foreign Exchange. I also stopped in on this adorable bakery, Le Napoleon Café. This tiny French patisserie offers a wide variety of European delights. I bought my very first macaron. The café also serves traditional brunch foods and sandwiches.


And what is a trip to California without sushi? Not a good one, I can tell you that. While at the Spectrum I dined at Izakaya Wasa Sushi. I ordered a traditional California roll and splurged on one of their specialty rolls, which was topped with popcorn shrimp and an eel sauce. It was absolutely delicious.

It was a great trip! What are some of your favorite things to do while on vacation?

7 Comments

Filed under Fashion, Food, Travel

7 responses to “My Travels: Fun Things To Do In Southern California

  1. How was the macaron? 🙂 Looks pretty!

  2. Love those San Diego beaches! I think one of the best things to do on vacation is just to explore. I think this part of the country is particularly good for that — when I was there a couple of years ago, I was so excited to just ride the bus all around San Diego County and see all the unique things in each city. I liked La Jolla at lot, and Encinitas. In Kansas, there’s so many empty miles between towns, whereas in San Diego county, you basically just go from one little town to another. I loved it! And exploring is cheap: Just the price of public transportation and a local map.

    Looks like you had an incredible time, Gina! Thanks for sharing!

  3. @kimberlyloc I thought it was quite delicious! But it was my very first one, so I don’t have much to compare it to. 🙂

    @Megan Thanks for the tip. 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Style: Ruffles Have Ridges |

  5. Pingback: Just Around the Corner: Esquina | Lawrence, KS |

  6. Pingback: My Travels: Road Trippin’ to Saint Louis, MO |

  7. Pingback: Goodbye 2011; Hello 2012 |

Leave a Reply

