What I’m Craving: 25th Birthday Wishes



This weekend is my birthday celebration. I thought I’d help you out with a few gift ideas. (But mostly I just wanted an excuse to share my latest obsessions.)

1. Maui Wowie by Urban Decay

2010 was a great year—that’s the year I discovered Urban Decay. This company makes spectacular eyeshadow with strong lasting power; Maui Wowie is by far my favorite of their array of colors. I own it in an Urban Decay eye shadow palette, but I hate using it because I feel like the more I use it, the less I have to use in the future. (If you hadn’t noticed, it’s a little pricey.) It’s great for everyday use and can easily be intensified with complementary colors for going out. It’s a greenish-gold with hints of silver and has just the right amount of sparkle. (i.e. People won’t confuse me with a sparklepire.)

2. ModCloth gift certificate

Thank God for Facebook ads. (You know, those creepy ads that tell you when you need to lose weight or try to convince you that, because you’re married, you must have children and want to buy them things?) I was so intrigued by a ModCloth ad that I actually clicked on the link. What I found was a shopping website that offers an array of clothes that can easily be described as retro, vintage or indie. I can’t get enough of this website—it’s constantly updated with new threads and, if they’re out of your size, they’ll email you as soon as it comes in!

3. Modern Family, The Complete First Season

If you don’t watch Modern Family I’m not so sure we can be friends. But maybe our friendship can survive if you buy me this DVD set to watch over and over again. I’ll let you borrow it. 🙂 (And if your favorite episode is not Fizbo, we may still find ourselves in an argument.)

4. Burberry London perfume

This scent has enticed me ever since I caught a whiff of it off my good friend kimberlyloc, who was wearing it at work. (I’m sure she thought I was coming on to her with my incessant “What ARE you wearing?” cries, but I swear I only wanted to know what she was wearing!) I rarely buy myself perfume, so if I don’t score a bottle for my birthday I’m going to have to shell out the dough for this one. (My Euphoria by Calvin Klein bottle is starting to run low.) It’s slightly floral and not at all overpowering. Its top notes are rose, honeysuckle, jasmine, peony and clementine; its solar notes are sandalwood, musk and patchouli.

5. Night Owl Boots by Chinese Laundry

I have been searching high and low for a pair of black leather over-the-knee boots. Have I found the mystery winner? I hope so! I’m pretty sure my awesome hubbie bought these chic beauties for my birthday, so here’s hoping they fit.

*Please excuse my poor cut-out techniques. I’ve never quite perfected it. (I think I ran into trouble with my “fancy” shadows.)

What are you currently obsessed with? Leave me a comment and let me know. I’d love to check it out.

This weekend is my birthday celebration. I thought I’d help you out with a few gift ideas. Mostly I just wanted an excuse to share my latest obsessions.1. Maui Wowie by Urban Decay.

2010 was a great year—that’s the year I discovered Urban Decay. This company makes spectacular eyeshadow with strong lasting power; Maui Wowie is by far my favorite of their array of colors. I own it in an Urban Decay eye shadow palette, but I hate using it because I feel like the more I use it, the less I have to use in the future. (If you hadn’t noticed, it’s a little pricey.) It’s great for everyday use and can easily be intensified with complementary colors for going out. It’s a greenish-gold with hints of silver and has just the right amount of sparkle. (i.e. People won’t confuse me with a sparklepire.)

2. ModCloth gift certificate

Thank God for Facebook ads. (You know, those creepy ads that tell you when you need to lose weight or try to convince you that, because you’re married, you must have children and want to buy them things?) I was so intrigued by a ModCloth ad that I actually clicked on the link. What I found was a shopping website offers an adorable array of clothes that can easily be described as retro, vintage or indie. I can’t get enough of this website—it’s constantly updated with new threads and, if they’re out of your size, they’ll email you as soon as it comes in!

3. Modern Family, The Complete First Season

If you don’t watch Modern Family I’m not so sure we can be friends. But maybe our friendship can survive if you buy me this DVD set to watch over and over again. I’ll let you borrow it. 🙂 (And if your favorite episode is not Fizbo, we may still find ourselves in an argument.)

4. Burberry London perfume

This scent has enticed me ever since I caught a whiff of it off my good friend Kim, who was wearing it at work. (I’m sure she thought I was coming on to her with my incessant “What ARE you wearing?” cries, but I swear I only wanted to know what she was wearing!) I rarely buy myself perfume, so if I don’t score a bottle for my birthday I’m going to have to shell out the dough for this one. (My Euphoria by Calvin Klein bottle is starting to run low.) It’s slightly floral and not at all overpowering. Its top notes are rose, honeysuckle, jasmine, peony and clementine; its solar notes are sandalwood, musk and patchouli.

5. Night Owl Boots by Chinese Laundry.

I have been searching high and low for a pair of black leather over-the-knee boots. Have I found the mystery winner? I hope so! I’m pretty sure my awesome hubbie bought these chic beauties for my birthday, so here’s hoping they fit.

*Please excuse my poor cut-out techniques. I’ve never quite perfected it. (I think I ran into trouble with my “fancy” shadows.)

10 Comments

Filed under Beauty, Fashion, Shopping, Television

10 responses to “What I’m Craving: 25th Birthday Wishes

  1. good picks, gina 🙂 you have had the perfume on your list for quite a while! get the hubs on that, too, haha. can’t wait to see you on saturday!

    xoxo

    http://www.kimberlyloc.com

  2. Oh, I am loving those boots! You should do what Alfie did in A Christmas Story, leave pictures of those boots in random areas were he will find it! lol.

    • @Rachel Ha ha. Good idea! I was a little less stealth than Ralphie. I was more “Hey AJ! Look at these boots! If you buy them now you’ll get free shipping. Your credit card is in the front entry way. :)”

  3. Peyton

    I would just like to say thank you! I’m really not a very good gift giver so if someone tells me what they want then I actually feel like I’m giving a good gift. Yea! Can’t wait to see you Sat. 🙂

  4. Pingback: My Style: Black Beauties |

  5. Pingback: kimberlyloc » Blog Archive » signature scents: a plate of perfume

  6. Pingback: Goodbye 2011; Hello 2012 |

  7. Pingback: What I’m Craving: 26th Birthday Wishes |

Leave a Reply

